The winners of the Spielwarenmesse ToyAward will be announced on Spielwarenmesse Digital from 9am on February 2. All of the nominated innovations can be found on this new platform in the digital ToyAward Special Area.

The ToyAward competition was open to all exhibitors at the Spielwarenmesse. The submitted entries underwent an initial digital pre-selection process. Here, an expert jury evaluated the applications on the criteria of originality, play fun, comprehensibility of the product concept, and prospect of retail success – and narrowed down the selection. Further criteria of safety, workmanship, and quality were also considered.

At a meeting in Nuremberg, members of the jury each nominated three products in the new Sustainability segment and in the categories PreSchool (3-6 years), SchoolKids (6-10 years), Teenagers & Adults (10 years and older) and Startup. There were no nominees this year in the Baby & Infant (0-3 years) category.

The nominees for the ToyAward 2022 are:

Emergency Doctor’s Backpack / Legler (Germany)
Maxi Barbecue Mud Kitchen / İnci Okul ve Ofis Mobilyalari (Turkey)
PlanWorld: Rubber Road & Rail / Plan Creations (Thailand)

BRIO Shuffleshot / BRIO (Sweden)
Climate Change – Understanding Global Warming / Tree Toys Corporation (Taiwan)
Fabulus Elexus / Hutter Trade (Germany)

echoes – The Audio Mystery Game / Ravensburger Verlag (Germany)
LEGO Bouquet / LEGO (Denmark)
Pixicade / BOTI (The Netherlands)

Cody Block / QUBS (Switzerland)
KNOP KNOP – soft felt building kit / SIA GOOD MAKE (Latvia)
Piks / OPPI (France)

Animal Friends / Fischertechnik (Germany)
La Colmena / Cocoletes (Spain)
Organic Cotton Bunny DouDou / Apunt Barcelona (Spain)
The 13 members of the jury, who were drawn from the fields of market research, retail, education, and toy safety, are:
Axel Dammler, iconkids & youth, Managing Director
Andrew Dobbie, Gameplan Europe, Managing Director
Konstantin Frishberg, Detsky Mir, Director Toys and Games Department
Dr. Harald Käb, naracon Innovationsberatung, Owner
Jörg Meister, little big things, Managing Director
Thorsten Paedelt, duo schreib & spiel, Managing Director
Andreas Schäfer, idee + spiel, Managing Director
Dean Smith, jaZams, Co-owner
Sue Warfield, ASTRA, President
Rainer Weiskirchen, TÜV Rheinland, Press Officer
Thomas Wodzicki, freelance play educationalist for various institutions in Germany and abroad
Tracy Wood, Toybuzz, Managing Director
Jean Youn, Kakaokids, Head of Toy Business

Go to for more information about the ToyAwards, the jury and the winners of recent years.

Receive the latest news
to your inbox

Toys n Playthings Logo

We’ll never send you spam or share your email address.
Find out more in our [link]Privacy Policy[/link].